Every season, Huskie Athletics celebrates the athletic achievements of student-athletes at the annual Huskie Salute. At the celebration, the Huskie Athletics Major 7 Awards are handed to student-athletes for their achievements. Awards are also given to the Student Trainer of the Year, Fan of the Year, Sponsor of the Year and Volunteer of the Year. The following is a list of receipients of the awards dating back to 1939.

E. Kent Phillips Trophy - Presented to the Male Athlete of the Year *

The E. Kent Phillips trophy is named in honour of Kent Phillips who was both an athlete and coach at the University of Saskatchewan. Phillips excelled in both rugby and hockey. As a coach, he led the Huskies to four consecutive rugby titles in the 1930s.

* Prior to 1989, this award was only given to an outstanding male athlete of a team sport.

Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy - Presented to the Female Athlete of the Year

The Mary Cartwright trophy is dedicated to the founder of the School of Physical Education at the University of Saskatchewan. Mary Cartwright was instrumental in the establishment of the women's recreation board on campus - today known as Campus Recreation.

Rusty MacDonald Cup - Presented to the All-Round Male Athlete

The Rusty MacDonald Cup has been given given to male athletes since 1939. Rusty MacDonald played on the Huskie football team as a centre and middle linebacker. He was also a champion diver and involved in student government. The Cup is awarded to an upper year male student-athlete who during his entire career as a Huskie exhibited the highest qualities of sportmanship and citizenship.

Valerie Girsberger Trophy - Presented to the All-Round Female Athlete

Valerie Girsberger was an accomplished student - graduating with a Bachelor's in both Science and Physical Education. She added a Masters in Physical Education. She was a member of the basketball and field hockey teams. Just six weeks after starting a teaching job at the University of Manitoba, she was killed in a car accident. The award is given to an upper year female student-athlete who during her entire career best combines the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, academic ability and athletic prowess.

Howard Nixon Trophy - Presented to the Male Rookie of the Year *

Howard Nixon was a longtime faculty member in the College of Physical Education. He was the coach of both the Huskie football and wrestling programs, before being named the first Dean of the College of Physical Education.

* Until 1988, the Howard Nixon Trophy was given to the Most Outstanding Male Tournament Athlete

Patricia Lawson Trophy - Presented to the Female Rookie of the Year

Patricia Lawson is considered as one of the greatest female athletes to ever don a Huskie uniform. She competed with track & field, swimming, basketball and tennis. She also held the post of Women's Athletic Director and the coach of the women's basketball team for eight seasons.

Colb McEown Trophy - Presented to the Coach of the Year

Colb McEown was a graduate of teh University of Saskatchewan, who began with athletics on campus as the 1932 men's basketball coach. While in the position, he led the Huskies to eight straight Western Intercollegiate Championships. He was also the driving force behind the building of the on-campus curling rink and in the establishment of the Saskatoon Hilltops football club.


2015-16 Winners

E. Kent Phillips Trophy - Jordon Cooke, Men's Hockey

The nation's top goaltender, Jordon Cooke, also received the award for the conference's most outstanding player after helping the Huskies win a Canada West Championship. The second-year Arts & Science student from Leduc, AB was leaned upon all season and was pivotal in the Huskies University Cup run. At the CIS Championship he was named the tournament's top goaltender after being honoured earlier in the weekend as the CIS Goaltender of the Year and a First Team All-Canadian.
Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy - Laura Dally, Women's Basketball
Canada West women's basketball MVP Laura Dally helped lead the Huskie women's basketball team to their first ever CIS Championship. The Kinesiology student from Bright's Grove, Ont. averaged 17.2 points per game and was named a tournament all-star at the CIS Final 8 in addition to her appointment as a CIS First Team All-Canadian.
Rusty MacDonald Cup - Jared Olson, Men's Track & Field

Jared Olson was the 2016 CIS & Canada West men's 60m hurdles champion. Olson shared the title of CIS and Conference champion with his 4x200m relay teammates. The Business student has developed as a leader during his career with the Huskies. Olson has also been a steady veteran presence away from the track, helping tutor and mentor younger teammates.

The Saskatoon native volunteers with many community track and field events and is always quick to step up and volunteer for his squad at various events. Olson has served on the Huskie Athletic Council for the past two seasons.

Valerie Girsberger Trophy - Dalyce Emmerson, Women's Basketball

A two-time Canada West Champion and now CIS Champion Dalyce Emmerson capped off her historic career in style. Emmerson was a three-time CIS All-Canadian and leaves the program second in rebounding, third in scoring and the all-time blocked shots leader. The Kinesiology student from Prince Albert, SK was named a conference all-star and appeared at the CIS Championship in four of her five seasons. Emmerson was the Canada West MVP and Defensive Player of the Year in 2013.

Emmerson was an All-Academic for the Huskies and volunteered at various events in the community such as Kin Spin, Tim Hortons' Camp Day, Lace up for Diabetes and was a coach with the Junior Huskies program.

Howard Nixon Tropyhy - CJ Gavlas, Men's Volleyball

CJ Gavlas was awarded the Howard Nixon Trophy for Male Rookie of the Year after setting the men's volleyball team to a Canada West silver medal. The Arts & Science student from Saskatoon was awarded the Canada West and CIS Rookie of the Year awards and was named to the All-Rookie Team at both the conference and national level.

Patricia Lawson Trophy - Kiera Prior, Women's Wrestling

Kiera Prior earned the silver medal at the CIS wrestling championships and was named the CIS Female Rookie of the Year. Prior's silver medal was in addition to her silver medal at the Canada West Championships. The Arts & Science student from Saskatoon finished no lower than fourth in any tournament all season.

Colb McEwon Trophy - Lisa Thomaidis, Women's Basketball
  In her 17th-year at the helm of the Huskies, Lisa Thomaidis led the team to its first ever CIS Championship. Thomaidis was named the Canada West Coach of the Year for the fifth time after guiding the team to an 18-2 record and their fourth conference title. Thomaidis has taken the Huskies to seven of the last eight CIS Championships.